Skip to content

Individual Schools Grants Recipients

The Kauffman Foundation invests in dozens of district, charter, and private schools serving lower-income students in the six-county metro Kansas City region (Johnson and Wyandotte counties in Kansas, and Cass, Clay, Jackson, and Platte counties in Missouri).

Here are just a few examples of how schools supported by the Individual Schools Grants program are exploring new approaches to helping students succeed.

  • New Americans Academy, Kansas City Public Schools: The New Americans Academy helps English language learners from around the world who are enrolled in Kansas City Public Schools navigate language, cultural and academic challenges on their path to a quality education.
  • Kansas City Neighborhood Academy: Designed to transform educational outcomes for students in Kansas City’s urban core, Kansas City Neighborhood Academy is working to provide students with the education they need to thrive as 21st century citizens.
  • Excelsior Springs High School, Excelsior Springs School District: To better prepare students for postsecondary and career success, Excelsior Springs High School is transforming its traditional high school to an innovative school that provides personalized learning, flexible learning spaces, and new teaching practices.
  • Apache Innovative School, Shawnee Mission School District: To better prepare students with the knowledge and skills they need to succeed, Apache Innovative School is transforming its traditional elementary school to an innovative school that provides project-based, personalized learning, and flexible scheduling.
  • Linden West Elementary School, North Kansas City School District: To effectively care for students whose academic and social outcomes are effected by trauma, the school applied for an Individual Schools Grant (ISG) to implement trauma-informed care practices throughout the school during the next two years.
  • Belton High School: To support the transformation of Belton’s only high school into career academies, the grant allows Belton High School to implement the Ford Next Generation Learning Model during the next two years.
  • Lee A. Tolbert Community Academy: The grant will support the integration of effective instructional technology practices at Lee A. Tolbert during the next two years.